*short* post about the lantern festival

So, apparently there’s been a lantern festival going on in Seoul for most of this month, except that I only heard about it the week it was ending, when everyone was posting these beautiful pictures of it.
Friday night, my friend Jessa (from Canada) and I went down to Seoul. We actually weren’t able to find it for the longest time, and wandered into this interesting Christmas store, and a place called “Lush” that sold all of these eco-friendly stuff like Shampoo that had the appearance of a bar of soap, and other cool things. I wish I had bought something, I know at least my mother and several friends who would love the stuff! (if it would even have made it through shipping, that is)

After much wandering, we *finally* found the festival. Funny thing is, we initially figured it must have been canceled because of the drizzly rain that was following us nearly continuously (hope I used that term right Dr. Wadia!)….but it turns out we were just at the wrong part of the river. We got to see maybe the last 15-20 minutes of the show before everything got turned off. It was one of those times where I wish I had bought a nicer camera, because the floats were beautiful and my camera doesn’t do them justice.

Enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “*short* post about the lantern festival”

  1. I read about the lantern festival online…Amazing how much I learn about SKorea because you are there! 🙂 Keep up the good work of exploring!

  2. Will do, Gwen! I think during my winter vacation in February I will explore Korea instead of shelling out 500+ USD for a ticket to Thailand….then I will get to explore a bunch within a week’s time 🙂

Leave a Reply

