I’M GOING TO JAPAN!

Yesterday I bought my tickets to Japan. I will be flying into Osaka (KIX) but staying in Kyoto.

I really would like to see Tokyo, but lack of time and travel partners means I would rather do a little than do a lot and be totally overwhelmed on what is a vacation.

I will be in Kyoto for a full week, and will be arriving and leaving on Sunday in August.  Still looking for hostels, so if anyone has any suggestions I am totally open to those.

I can’t believe I’m going to Japan!! This is one of the really cool things about living abroad that I will miss when I go home. Heck, who says this is the last time I’ll go abroad? Maybe I’ll get a job at a corporation that allows me to travel.

Sorry about the tangent there. Suggestions for places to stay in Kyoto or good day trips would be most helpful 🙂

Possible Intinerary:

Day 1 (Arrival) Stay in Osaka and see some sights there

Day 2 Arrive in Kyoto where I’ll sleep the rest of my nights, see Imperial Palace (if I can register my visit) and some other sights

Day 3:  Day trip to Nara

Day 4  Day trip to Hiroshima if possible (See Peace Park and Atom bomb museum)

Day 5 Relax, go into Downtown Kyoto

Day 6… possibly take a midnight bus to Tokyo, spend the day there and take a bullet train home

Day 7: Go home, broke but happy!

5 thoughts on “I’M GOING TO JAPAN!”

  1. Cool! I want to go to Japan, especially Kyoto, but it’s so expensive these days… and we’re saving for a round the world trip so it’s like, a week in Japan, or an extra month in Thailand? haha. Enjoy!!!

    1. Yeah….this trip is going to be so pricey. I would love so much to visit Thailand, but since I will only teach in Korea this one year I didn’t know the next time I’d be in Asia…better to make it Japan since I’ve wanted to go there for almost as long as I wanted to go to China 🙂

  2. Hoping to go there later this year with a friend. Lucky you! Anyways, Kyoto has a lot of temples that you might want to check out like Kiyomizudera Temple and the Kinkakuji (Golden Pavilion). Both are pretty touristy places to go. There’s also the Fushimi Inari Shrine which is home to a lot of toriis (the iconic Japanese red gates). That’s all I’ve got for Kyoto but it’s a good idea to find an onsen (hot spring) along the way on the trip somewhere. May be a bit pricey depending on where you go though!

    -Jeff

    1. Hey Jeff,
      Thanks I feel pretty lucky! I’m very excited about this trip. I’m definitely going to get into some touristy stuff. I just updated my entry with my possible itinerary. Do you feel like this is possible? Would it be smarter to get a train pass or subway pass?

    2. I agree with Jeff, the Fushimi Inari Shrine was beautiful. I also walked along the Philosopher’s Path (in Kyoto) which was nice even though it wasn’t cherry blossom season.

Leave a Reply

