Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Cant’ Stop Talking (is a good book)

I haven’t been blogging much lately, due to previously either getting ready for summer camp or teaching it. I have begun to get rid of things I won’t bring back with me to the States, and I’ve been involved with Seoul Flyers, the running group I talk about fairly often.

Being an introvert, I find it hard sometimes to be abroad. We associate adventures and boldness with people who travel overseas, not bookishness and keeping to oneself.  In her book, the title of which is mentioned above, Susan Cain defends introverts in a society that is all about people being entertaining and sparkly over deep and thoughtful. She says we need a balance of the two temperaments instead of focusing so exclusively on the people who thrive on group-work and small talk.

At the part in the book I’m at, I found this part especially reassuring as I think about my future, and how soon I think I should hurry up and “just figure everything out already.”:

“So stay true to your own nature. If you like to do things in a slow and steady way, don’t let others make you feel as if you have to race. If you enjoy depth, don’t force yourself to seek breadth. If you prefer single-tasking to multi-tasking, stick to your guns. Being relatively unmoved by rewards gives you the incalculable power to go your own way. It’s up to you to use that independence to good effect.”

The next time you are pretending to be perky and able to multi-task well (when truly you are a quiet, thoughtful, and deliberate person who prefers to finish one task before moving on to the next one), remember that we need both extroverts to take the risks and introverts to think deeply about what it all means.

One thought on “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Cant’ Stop Talking (is a good book)”

Leave a Reply

