Go Commando 1/2 Marathon

I live in military town, because where I live is so close to Ft. Campbell, Kentucky.

With this in mind, it makes sense that someone would set up a race that is geared to the military and/or their families. I participated in one this past Saturday, the Commando 1/2 Marathon and 5k. I did the half. The race was overall organized well, except in two respects:  the food and refreshments were very far from the finish line, so when I finished I started walking toward them instead of being near the people who were finishing. It was more hilly than I expected, too. I knew there would be some hills, but still I persevered in thinking that I might do better than my last half marathon time, and maybe the one before that two. There were many hills in miles 7ish-10 I  believe, and I didn’t realize how critical it was that I tone it down. When I was heading downhill from all of these, I soon realized I had overspent myself. The last three miles were simply me putting one leg in front of the other. I watched as person after person continued to pass me. It was demoralizing, but I knew I couldn’t even make my legs go any faster since I had wasted their speed on the hills. I have come to the realization that I am also not good about getting proper mileage any more. I have become a little lazy.

Picture of the medal: Someone was saying both 5k and 1/2 marathons were given the same medal, which I can forgive since this was the second year of the race but they might want to change that next year. 🙂

Go Commando Half Marathon Medal

I had a strangely good weekend. One of the strangest I have had a in a long time, but a good one.

Running tips: You guys got any? any running books I should read?

Leave a Reply

