Roasted Pepper and Avocado Soup

I got this recipe from Clean Eating magazine’s November/December 2012 Issue , and typed it out here (not exactly word for word but close enough)

I am just starting to cook every so often since I’ve been back. It gives me something productive to do that doesn’t involve  jobs. I do want to take my future seriously and get a job that will allow me to move out, but for now I’m here at home and I’m going to use this time wisely if I don’t get in the way. I was inspired to start a little bit of cooking when I saw a friend on facebook’s album that she’d made that celebrated her “Homecooked Wednesdays.” I thought to myself “I like the sound of that, I’ll try it too!” So in a sense I coped off of her, but no worries. Each time I have cooked it’s been a different day of the week, so I shouldn’t have too many problems.

Last week I bought a slow cooker, or crock-pot, as they are also called. The recipes that Clean Eating had were supposedly for 4 to 6 quart crock-pots. Do you think it makes any difference what size you use? I can still take it back if I hear that it makes a big difference. I thought the size would be nice because then I can make big and little dishes and not need two crock-pots.

Here’s the finished product: 

Given that it was ME doing this, I was proud of myself. It was somewhat bland, but I did feel accomplished. It went well with crackers, but unfortunately we ran out. Dad didn’t seem to really be into it, he asked “what country it was from,” but was a good sport and to his credit he did eat some of it.

Recipe below:

Roasted Pepper and Avocado Soup

Serves 5
Hands on time: 25 min
Total cooking time (crock pot) 7 hours 25 minutes or 3 1/2 hrs on high

Ingredients:
1tbsp safflower oil, divided
1 1/2 cups diced yellow onion
4 pablano chile peppers, seeded and quartered
2 yellow bell peppers, s&q
4 cloves garlic, peeled
2 tsp chile powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1 avocado, pitted peeled, and roughly chopped
3 cups skim milk
3/4 cup sea salt (I didn’t have sea salt..don’t know if that made any difference..)
2/3 cup low-fat sour cream
1 large lime, cut into wedges (for topping I guess)

RELISH
1 poblano chile pepper, seeded and finely chopped
1 tomato, diced
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves
1/4 tsp sea salt

One:
In a large nonstick skillet on medium-high, heat 1 tsp oil. Add oniion and cook until very browned, about 8 min. Transfer to a 4 to 6 qt slow cooker (Mine is 7…do you think that makes any difference? I bought it last week. Just wondering what you opinion would be since you cook more than I do)

Two: to slow cooker, add 4 poblano peppers, bell peppers, garlic, chile powder, cumin and remaining 2 tsp oil. Stir well, cover and cook on low for 7 hours (or on high for 3 1/2 hours)

Threee: Transfer pepper mixture to a blender with avocado; puree until smooth. Return to slow cooker and stir in milk and salt. (Cook for 15 more min on high to reheat if necessary)

Four: In a small bowl, combine relish ingredients. Divide soup among serving bowls and top with relish, sour cream, and lime wedges.

 

So…does anyone have any other crockpot recipes for me to try? 🙂

Leave a Reply

