Weekend in the Mountains

This past weekend my mom’s side of the family spent the weekend in Gatlinburg. I had a rough start the first night, as I hadn’t slept much during the week and I stepped in vomit as soon as I got to the hotel and had to re-park (I was wearing flip flops!!! I left them outside in the rain all weekend).

As time went on I had a great time. I got to catch up with the lives of my cousins, got to hear my Uncles tell a few of the old stories of growing up, and and got to watch some intense games of chess. Oh, and I got to play Jenga for the first time. I took pictures, but they are on my iPod so I’ll have to email those to myself and post them later.

Saturday, after I came downstairs from showering I saw that everyone was decorating a gingerbread house. Uncle Joe and Henny brought one for every family. They also brought icing, candy to decorate, and sprinkles.

Gingerbread house
Gingerbread house

Everyone went their own ways after a brunch at Pancake Pantry. I went with my Aunt Joanie and her crew to Ober Gatlinburg, and I skied while they went tubing. I spent the first hour remembering how to ski, and the second hour carving through the ice of the “blue square” hill that no one was using for some reason. The weather was unseasonably warm, and I saw a lot of people not even wearing jackets or pants for their snow adventures. I’m grateful Ober makes their own snow!

That night we all talked after eating and freshening up a little bit. We ate cheese and crackers and halfway watched Justin Timberlake and Jimmy Fallon  host SNL. We played Jenga. We talked. Sunday morning, as we all gathered our things and talked some more,I got my head scratched. I watched my cousin Alex beat three of my cousins at Chess. All too soon, it was time to go.
I have a lot to be thankful for on Mom’s side of the family.

p.s. The fun didn’t stop there. After the long drive home, I spent time with my friend Morgan at her Grandparents’ and then her Parents’ house. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weekend in the Mountains”

Leave a Reply

