“Recognize tha…

“Recognize that these things we call answers are temporary and totally contingent.”

I don’t know where that quote originally comes from. I was reading an article about this woman who separated from her husband two years ago (how is 2012 two years ago?!). You can find the article here: http://www.runnersworld.com/runners-stories/how-running-changed-me-caressa-sharp?cm_mmc=Facebook-_-RunnersWorld-_-Content-RunnerStories-_-HRCMCaressa

I have read several self help books in my day. Maybe more than  several, and I can tell you that I have begun to learn how much of life is subjective and how it honestly depends on the choices I make to acknowledge my feelings (or not), to do the right thing for me (or not), to listen to others (or not), and so on. I do believe that there is a right and a wrong and that my opinions different from others’. In fact, my opinions have changed over time. Some things may never change, and that is okay. Not everything is supposed to change. Change is constant, though. The exciting part is that I can make little changes and they’ll later take shape in big ways if I stick with them.(Career, Relationships, Friendships).  The other great thing is that it isn’t all about me. I’m a cog in a great piece of machinery. Life neither depends on me to go on nor should it go on without me as long as I’m breathing. God is here and he has everything to do with me but at the same time if I don’t count myself accountable to take action then I can say “God is good,” and pray to him and be no better than I was before.

I was trying to have a point to this post, a thesis. I found inspiration from reading the interview I posted above, but especially from the quote I pasted above this post. Some answers are not temporary, (like being saved)  but others, like how to deal with a situation or a feeling, change.

Leave a Reply

