Valentine’s Day

I do agree with those who say that Valentine’s is a commercial holiday and that love towards one another and significant others ought to occur more often than once or twice in a big romantic sweep a year.

On the other hand, it is nice to treat a holiday as a slight depature from the every day and do something a little different.

Valentine's day treats

Some girls were giving people roses. I was the recipient of one 🙂 While I was out of the room, a girl gave me a valentine and then another child brought a little baggie of candy. I got the cupcake from a Valentine’s day party I raided.

Valentine's day gift
Valentine’s day gift from Jan 🙂

I was especially excited about getting my towel. Let me tell you, it’s an interesting story….

So I’ve been mentioning for the past few weeks how I really like this frog towel from walmart. I even showed Jan how I made it the background of my cell phone to help myself remember to go back and buy it. Finally, I told him yesterday that I was going to go get it. Today he calls me as I tell him I’m coming into walmart and acts like he wants to get cooking together right after I get back home. I’m a little surprised since I thought we were getting together later but I don’t make a big deal of it. I go to look for the Frog towel, and I find that there are none on the shelf. None. I’m surprised because this style appears to be the only one out of stock. I text Jan and relay how I’m sad about it. He calls me at least three other times while I’m in walmart, asking  me when I’m coming back home and if I can hurry up a little. I’m start to feel a little  rushed since I still don’t get what made him change his mind about meeting earlier. I leave walmart and tell him. We don’t actually see each other for several more  hours; he’s doing stuff and working out.

When we meet up,  Jan gives me a gift. It’s the frog toothbrush holder, socks, and frog shower curtain holders! I’m happy about it, but there’s a small pang because I had hoped maybe he got one. Then Jan acts like he wants me to look at some pictures on his phone. He shows me some funny work pictures. Then he shows me a picture of a hand holding a basket of 12 or more frog towels. My first conclusion is that he wanted to make them impossible for me to find to be funny. Then he says he has one more thing for me, and it’s the towel! Funny story and good gift.  (Frogs are some of my favorite animals ever).

Smoked Cheddar Drop Biscuits and Chicken Pot Pie soup! (I bought regular shredded cheddar...the other wasn't in the store)
Smoked Cheddar Drop Biscuits and Chicken Pot Pie soup! (I bought regular shredded cheddar…the other wasn’t in the store)

I got recipes for Smoked Cheddar Drop Biscuts and Chicken Pot Pie Soup from lauralayne (http://lauralayne.wordpress.com/ )

The recipe turned out well, despite me lacking a few ingredients. Maybe I’ll repost her recipe later.

It was a nice evening, though a late one. I’m off to bed.

Leave a Reply

