APSU Gov Run

I did my first “fun run” this weekend. Austin Peay hosted their own color run, but for a third of the price of the original.

At check-in, I got my white t-shirt that had the words “The Gov Run” on the front and the names of sponsors on the back. All around there were people wearing stick-on mustaches in honor of our mascot, who has just been changed to look meaner on behalf of our football team. The friendly mustache is like a throwback to when he looked like the peanut bag guy. Anyway!
WP_20140927_006
During the run (which was somewhere over a mile, I think….I wasn’t wearing my Garmin) we were sprayed with flourescent liquid, and shot at with colored cornstarch powder at different intervals. Once we finished, we were directed to the intramural field and given a packet of colored powder each. Then at the end, we waited for the time to come when we were told to throw our colored powder in the air as a unit.

while everything was going on
while everything was going on

Waiting to throw the powder was boring for me, since I wasn’t really dancing or down with the beat. I had the misfortune to meet a large-bottomed student who asked me if she could could move up to the front with me, when she really meant was that she didn’t care whether she pushed me out of the way or not with said large bottom but was going to do it faux-nicely.

Nevertheless, I stayed until it was over. I managed to catch (and break) an APSU frisbee thrown my way, a skittle packet, and an extra packet of colored powder before it was all over. And I got thoroughly covered by colored liquid and colored powder as volunteers made their rounds. I took a few pictures of myself before leaving. I also got some yummy “street tacos” from the taco truck parked next to the intramural field.

This was the happy result, so all was well that ended colorful.
This was the happy result, so all was well that ended colorful.

Right before the volunteers came around cleaning everything up
Right before the volunteers came around cleaning everything up

The street tacos were good
The street tacos were good

It was fun. I would do it again, but I would try harder to recruit a friend next time.

2 thoughts on “APSU Gov Run”

Leave a Reply

